Mr. Betroit…Please lend me your ear

One of my favorite scenes of my favorite movie of all time!

If you have never seen this movie, and even if you have…check out the link. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hBVNRkE07s4

For a long time, I have been that “go to” person for many of my friends when they have needed to talk. Maybe it is because I am a good listener, or that I can be completely objective when need be, either way I enjoy being able to put my psych degree to work although my family thought and many still do that I am a psychiatrist…silly rabbits.

As many conversations amongst friends, relationships seem to be the usual topic of choice. I, by no means, claim to be an expert in the field. I have been in and screwed up ended enough relationships to know that I am a work in progress.

What I believe I am good at, though, is being able to read people and tell them what they need to hear, not necessarily what they would like to hear. This happened yesterday…

While speaking with a friend of mine about her situation, I started to ponder why we as intelligent people do some really foolish things when it comes to matters of the heart. Many of us will experience relationships where we feel that we are not getting all that we deserve, want, need, and desire. What is funny about this is that once we get what we said we needed, we don’t know how to act. How do you go from being a confident, communicative person to someone who runs and hides at the first sign of happiness?

Love, emotions, and getting what you asked for and not knowing how to handle it…that is how. If you are in a situation in which you are not being fed, leave now! Don’t wait too long because when you do get what you want, you may not know how to deal with this “foreign presence”

The worst may be pulling what Mary J Blige describes in “Hurt Again”. We are so afraid of getting hurt, that when we recognize we have what we want, we play games and intentionally act stupid…where they do that at? How do you have what you want and purposely act like a plum fool!

This is how men and women reach their mid-30s and proclaim that the other “aint shh”. It’s not the the other half is less than poop, but it is more so that you have ran away all potential suitors so all you are left with is aint shh, no potential having, bat shh crazy ass people…and no one wants that.

So people…don’t act a fool when you find something you like, because when you act a fool, people will leave you. When people leave you, you will be sad and confused. When you are sad and confused, you go get a cat to keep you company. Once you get one cat, other cats will come. Once other cats come, you will end up as the smelly cat person on Hoarders…don’t be the smelly cat person on Hoarders. Stick with something you like

…and it just may become something you can love.

This entry was posted in Life, Relationships and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment