Out of my league…or not

Can you hit a 98 mph fastball? Have you ever tried?

I am an avid sports fan and this pretty much goes for all sports. I played basketball, football, ran track and bowled competitively but I have a basic working knowledge of about 85% of the world’s sports (something I told my grandma I would do at the age of 8, during the ’92 Olympics). Certain sports I can not watch until the post season or major championships (golf, tennis, hockey, etc.). No real reason why but I just can’t get into it unless something big is on the line.

Baseball falls into this category as well. Last night, my Detroit Tigers put themselves into position to sweep the Yankees tonight with a commanding performance from our ace pitcher Justin Verlander. The Yankees and everyone else in baseball just seem out of their league going against this guy. This got me to thinking about something I read recently.

I can not recall where I read it but it dealt with guys approaching girls that are “clearly out of their league” and getting shut down, as one would expect. The author countered with “how would the guy know that someone is out of their league unless they tried to talk to them in the first place” and I tend to agree. That, however, is easier said than done.

I can speak directly to this from recent personal experience. There is a young lady that is currently in my “get to know you” circle that I might not have approached in the past. Call it fear of rejection or whatever but something told me to just do it I would also chalk it up to my Sherlock Holmes skills to pick up clues

What I found out is not only is this young lady NOT out of my league, we actually may be on similar wavelengths. Now this is still in the exploratory phase no jumping off springboards into empty pools with this one but the prospect seems to have some promise.

Another recent example found me in a position to have an in-depth, detailed conversation with someone, whom I was definitely attracted to, but I didn’t, even though I have stated before that I would speak my mind before. Maybe it was too close to home or the fact that I saw her whip and then looked at my white girl and said nah…either way, I approached the plate with Verlander on the mound and went down looking.

SMH at myself for that one.

What’s funny about that is that I believed that I picked up her “pitch” and saw an opportunity to swing but didn’t. Maybe I’ll get another chance to stand in the batter box and next time I am faced with a Verlander, I’ll make sure to at least swing.

I may go down swinging, but it would be much better than looking at opportunities and then walk back to the dugout wondering “what if…”

This entry was posted in Life, Relationships, Sex, Sports and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment